My new best friend, Leslie Blodgett…

New York Times readers will remember this June 2011 magazine profile of Leslie Blodgett, the chief of Bare Escentuals cosmetics and QVC star. I was surprised and blushingly flattered when she wrote me a fan note about my book, “In Our Prime.” She was especially interested in the chapters on advertising and the Midlife Industrial Complex. We met for coffee at the Times today, and what was so amazing about this cosmetics mogul is her own perceptive critique of the beauty industry, and the company’s attempts to avoid the demeaning messages embedded in so much advertising. Now that I have a goody bag of Escentual treats, I can hardly wait to start swirling and tapping.

Leave a Reply

